This page lists all HTML tags that are in the HTML5 and HTML 4 specifications (including tags that are obsolete in HTML5).

HTML5 Tags

The following tags are supported in HTML5 (and/or the WHATWG HTML Living Standard).

HTML5 Tags that have been Removed From HTML5

These tags were once in HTML5 but have since been removed.

However, at the time of writing, the WHATWG Living Standard currently still includes the <menu> element, but with slightly different specs.

HTML 4 Tags that are Obsolete in HTML5

The following tags are supported in HTML 4 but not HTML5. Therefore you should not use these if you need to be HTML5 compliant.

What Are HTML Tags?

HTML tags are the building blocks of HTML. They are used to define the HTML elements that should appear on a web page. Without HTML tags, you wouldn't have an HTML page. Virtually every web page contains HTML tags (even if the website also uses other programming languages).

See HTML elements for a full explanation of HTML tags and elements.