Character Sets

A comprehensive list of unicode characters, including all emoji characters, as well as all HTML5 named character references.

The term character set generally refers to a group of characters used for a specific purpose. This page contains a list of characters from the Universal Coded Character Set (UCS), which is defined by the Unicode and ISO/IEC 10646 standards.

Emoji Characters

Full list of emoji v3.0 characters, which are part of the Unicode Standard, version 9.0.

Unicode Character Reference

List of common Unicode character blocks from the Unicode Standard, version 9.0.

HTML5 Named Character References

Here's a full list of HTML5 named character references listed alphabetically by first letter.

HTML5 supports over 2,000 named character references. These correspond with a Unicode hexadecimal value from the above list (and therefore, also its decimal equivalent). In some cases, one named character reference corresponds to two numerical values (as it joins two characters into one glyph).

How to Use the Character Codes

To display any of the characters in the left column within a web page, you'll need to use one of the codes in the other columns within your HTML code.

You can choose either the entity name from the Entity column, the hexadecimal value from the Hexadecimal column, or the decimal value from the Decimal column.

Where there's more than one entity name, choose just one.

Where there's more than one hexadecimal, use both. This is because the named entity uses more than one character to display the glyph. The same applies with the decimal value.

You'll need to include the leading ampersand (&) and trailing semi-colon (;), as well as any hash symbols (#) and x characters.